Honors & Awards

CRYP / Executive Director Julie Garreau

  • Americans for the Arts – Selina Roberts Ottum Award for Arts Leadership (2022)
  • Vital Village Fellowship (2022)
  • President, Native American Food Systems Alliance (Completed Term, 2021)
  • The Gratitude Network’s Gratitude Fellowship (2021)
  • Americans for the Arts – Arts Education Award  (2019)
  • Americans for the Arts – PAN Year in Review (2019)
  • Tim Wapato Public Advocate of the Year (2019)
  • Bush Foundation 2nd Community Creativity Cohort (2018)
  • David Rockefeller BCA pARTnership Award, in conjunction with Square (2018)
  • Bush Fellow, Bush Foundation (2016-18)
  • Americans for the Arts – Robert E. Gard Award (2017)
  • Bush Prize for Innovation (2015)
  • National Indian Education Association Community Service Award (2015)
  • Founding Member, Native American Food Systems Alliance (2014)
  • Bush Foundation Native Nations Rebuilders Fellow (2012)
  • South Dakota Commission for National and Community Service: Governor’s Appointment (2011-present)
  • Hopa Mountain Native Nonprofit Leadership Program (2011)
  • South Dakota State Senate Candidate, District 28 (2010)
  • Fairy Godmother’s Fund Council Member (2008-2010)
  • Spirit of Dakota Award (2009)
  • Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education Advisory Council
  • S. Department of Health & Human Services Community Services Award (2006)
  • Testified before the U.S. Senate Indian Affairs Committee Hearing on Youth Suicide Prevention (2005)
  • 1st Place Garden Crusader, sponsored by Garden Supply Company (2005)
  • National Museum of the American Indian Honor Wall (2004)
  • South Dakota Coalition for Children’s Champion for Children Award (2002)
  • North American Indian Women’s Association Fellowship Among All Peoples Award (1999)
  • Father Hogebach Service to Native American Children Award, presented by St. Joseph’s Indian School (1995)
  • Lakota Nation Invitational Tournament Public Service Award (1993)
  • Presidential Points of Light Award, presented by President George H. W. Bush (1993)
  • South Dakota Governor’s Volunteer of the Year Award, presented by Gov. George Mickelson (1992)

Explore About Section

Mission & History

In 1988, Julie Garreau and a group of volunteers founded CRYP in a defunct bar on Eagle Butte’s Main Street. We’ve come a long way since then. Learn more about our Mission and History.


CRYP wouldn’t be where it is today without our resourceful, hard-working staff members, who routinely go well beyond the call of duty to serve our children, families and community. Learn more about our Staff.

Board of Directors

We are fortunate to have the support of a dedicated group of local and regional community leaders, who consistently offer their guidance as CRYP continues to grow and evolve. Learn more about our Board of Directors. 

Advisory Board

As we pursue our ongoing mission in the Cheyenne River community, and engage with partners across the country, CRYP also calls on a team of valued professionals for advice and expertise. Learn more about CRYP’s Advisory Board.


A core component of our mission is to offer safe, positive, healthy spaces for our young people, families and community members to gather, exchange ideas, learn, socialize and thrive. Learn more about our Facilities.

Honors & Awards

Through the years, CRYP’s efforts have been recognized by a variety of regional and national organizations. Learn more about Our Honors and Awards.


We strive to keep our partners, supporters and friends up to date on all the latest happenings here at CRYP. Click here to see our Publications.


CRYP is dedicated to full transparency. Click here for our latest Financial statements and 990.